America's Unofficial Ambassadors

We work at the grassroots level throughout the Muslim World to counter violent extremism before it takes hold, to promote tolerance and understanding, and to foster better relations with the United States.

A Volunteer’s First Day in Amman, Jordan

As an Unofficial Ambassador, Skye is spending his summer in Jordan to work as an Intern for the Jordanian Ministry of Social Development. He’s started a blog to record his amazing experience….here is short excerpt:

Skye standing in the middle downtown of Amman

Last night I arrived in Jordan along with two other interns for the program that I randomly met in the Frankfurt airport.  We got into Jordan about 2:00AM and then spent an hour going through customs and getting our Visas.  We were picked up in an old Toyota van and driven through the semi-deserted streets of Amman with blaring Arabic music, while I stared out the window looking at amazing mosques and other buildings.  We got into the apartment and I decided to take a shower before going to bed.  I went into the bathroom and found out, unfortunately, that our apartment has no warm water! This is horrible, especially for someone who loves warm showers. So, I quickly soaped up and then gently splashed the water on myself, as I tried to not to scream from shock.  As I got out of the shower I had to dry myself off with my used t-shirt because I had negated to buy a replacement towel in America before arriving.

As I prepared to slip into bed, I heard the call to prayer for the first time at almost exactly 4:00 AM.  It was beautiful and something that I was very much looking forward to.

A Mosque in Amman, Jordan

Read more about Skye’s journey by visiting his blog: http://myjourneytojordan.blogspot.com/

For information on how you can volunteer in a Muslim-majority country, visit the AUA Website today!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2011 by in Volunteer Voices and tagged , , , , , , , .
