America's Unofficial Ambassadors

We work at the grassroots level throughout the Muslim World to counter violent extremism before it takes hold, to promote tolerance and understanding, and to foster better relations with the United States.

Everday Ambassador- Travel is Fatal to Bigotry

Everyday Ambassador

DSCN5167Today’s post comes from Everyday Ambassador’s Partnership Manager Meg VanDeusen. She is currently studying abroad in Amsterdam on and SIT Program titled The International Perspectives of Sexuality and Gender. They spent the past two weeks in Morocco exploring issues of Migration and Gender. When not traveling, Meg attends the University of North Carolina where she studies Anthropology and Women’s Studies and in her spare time farms with HOPE Gardens.

The only way I can describe my two week excursion to Morocco is as a pure culture high. I have known for a long time that I am a restless questioner who has caught the travel bug and Morocco only bolstered my belief. Every moment was an act of exploration. I discovered stereotypes I was not aware of having and challenged my understanding of Arab culture. I came to realize how many ways there are to look at…

View original post 767 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2013 by in AUA Partners and tagged , , , .
