America's Unofficial Ambassadors

We work at the grassroots level throughout the Muslim World to counter violent extremism before it takes hold, to promote tolerance and understanding, and to foster better relations with the United States.

Kayla Kyle Reflects on Her Trip to Zanzibar: Pre-Departure

Image

Zanzibar. Tomorrow I start my journey to go to this African island in order to teach English and to experience the culture. I never thought that I would be doing anything like this, but I am so grateful for this opportunity. It is amazing to be immersed in another culture, sharing values, ideals, differences, and interests with wonderful people and despite my nervousness, I am ready to jump into Zanzibar’s culture. I cannot wait to meet the people and learn from them as I hope they learn from me. It will definitely be an experience of a lifetime and as I continue to gather my things to pack, I get more excited.

I am so ready to share everything I can with my students and everyone I meet because just the idea of experiencing new cultures and languages motivates me to throw myself out there. I hope I can give my students as much as I know they will give me through their culture, language, stories, and lives in general. I am expecting six weeks full of getting to know wonderful people, learning swahili, acquiring teaching experience, learning about the amazing culture, and having an awesome experience. Like Marcel Proust said, “The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.” Till next time!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2013 by in Volunteer Related and tagged , , , .
