America's Unofficial Ambassadors

We work at the grassroots level throughout the Muslim World to counter violent extremism before it takes hold, to promote tolerance and understanding, and to foster better relations with the United States.

Zulekha Abu: The Before Post

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”

Image In the beginning of the school year, I just knew I was going to get a political internship this summer- there was no question about it. Then, one day at school I saw a poster for internships abroad, but I didn’t think anything of it. My friend asked me to come with her to the meeting, so I did. Everything fell into place and here I am getting ready to go to Zanzibar for 6 weeks. 

 Sometimes we think we know what to expect, and what will happen, but in reality we don’t. Life is full of surprises and adventures, and it’s up to us to explore them. That’s the mindset and belief I am taking with me to Zanzibar. 

 I am counting down the days until I leave for Zanzibar and I have never been so excited and nervous at the same time. I’m excited to finally make my dream of traveling abroad come true. I have traveled out of the country before, but never alone. This makes me excited and nervous at the same time. I think it will be hard at first to adjust to the Zanzibarian life style, but I know that it will happen. I want to absorb everything about the culture and people. My goal for myself is to come back a different person. I know everyone says after you travel you come back a different person, but I am determined to have a life changing experience that I will value for the rest of my life.

 In Zanzibar, I will be interning at the International English School, teaching kids 12-16 years old. I am excited to not only teach but to also learn from the students. I can’t wait to open a new page in my book, to explore, learn, and make a difference. 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2013 by in Volunteer Related and tagged , , , .
