America's Unofficial Ambassadors

We work at the grassroots level throughout the Muslim World to counter violent extremism before it takes hold, to promote tolerance and understanding, and to foster better relations with the United States.

Hello From Zanzibar!

Kayla Kyle is currently volunteering in Zanzibar at an NGO named Zayedesa. 

Image

Greetings bounce off the stonewalls every where I walk here in Zanzibar. “Jambo..Jambo!” Eyes watch my every step, salesmen come up to me offering the latest tourist items, and yet I simply bat away negative thoughts that may swirl around my head like annoying flies. Instead I fawn over the passion that is presented in every worker at Zayedesa, the NGO where I am volunteering. They tend to their community’s needs and do everything they can to keep the community in a healthy state like a mother tending to her child. And I am simply another child that has come into the community and needs guidance. They have taken me under their wings and given me the advice, experience, and information that will help me to grow during my time in Zanzibar. I hope in return to teach them the skills they need to further help their community in any situation. I could not ask for a better placement during my internship here. Sometimes life takes you where you never thought you would end up and those times end up being the best moments.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2013 by in Volunteer Related and tagged , , , .
