America's Unofficial Ambassadors

We work at the grassroots level throughout the Muslim World to counter violent extremism before it takes hold, to promote tolerance and understanding, and to foster better relations with the United States.

Re-blog: Best Friends in Tanzania

AUA Summer Service Intern Emma Way, who taught English in Zanzibar, saw this article published in Pink Pangea, an online magazine for women travelers. friendship-in-tanzania1-985x1024

“I met Ruhaila on my first day of teaching. She was sitting quietly, arms wrapped lovingly around her dictionary, with a sassy smirk across her face. She was intimidating and looked like she was not being challenged. Great, I thought. Here I was, my first day, teaching a class not even listed on my schedule with a know-it-all sitting front and center waiting for me to teach about environmental degradation. As I am neither an environmental studies major nor studying education, this all came very naturally.

I saw her judgmental glances; they made me want to run to the ocean and swim back to the comfortable shores of Delaware. She was onto me – she knew I was clueless.

After hopelessly reading the textbook for thirty minutes, I gave them an exercise. Of course she was the first to raise her hand.

“Could you explain chlorofluorocarbons?” she asked.

No I cannot. Seriously girl – figure it out. This is what I wanted to say, but instead I put on a smile and told her I’d do the best I could.”

To read more, follow this link.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2013 by in Volunteer Related.
