America's Unofficial Ambassadors

We work at the grassroots level throughout the Muslim World to counter violent extremism before it takes hold, to promote tolerance and understanding, and to foster better relations with the United States.

Tasheka Cousins awaits Zanzibar adventures!

This post was written by Tasheka Cousins before her arrival in Zanzibar, Tanzania.

After spending a whole two months psyching myself up for this trip to Zanzibar, I think I am finally ready. For those of you that don’t know, Zanzibar is a small island off the coast of Tanzania, in East Africa filled with beautiful people, beautiful beaches, and a wonderful culture that is second to none. I expect that being a volunteer in Zanzibar is going to be very different from most of the traveling I have done and I hope that this is a pleasant surprise. Being a tourist in a country is so much different from volunteering and getting to know the locals and their culture, and I hope that this experience will help me to better appreciate cultures other than my own.

Travelling is fun, but when you are able to travel to anther country for a unique cause, that is AMAZING!!! I’m just excited that America’s Unofficial Ambassadors has given me that chance to make such an impact in the life of these Zanzibar natives. An impact that I know will be an extremely positive one. I not only want to impact the life of others but I hope that Zanzibar’s people and culture will also impact my life positively.

Can you tell that I am excited? Eight days to go and I know this is the most excited I have ever been to get on a plane and say goodbye to my friends and family for six weeks. I will keep everyone posted on my Zanzibar adventures with a post hopefully once a week. So until then folks, “walk gud”- Jamaican patois for see you later.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2014 by in AUA Network, Volunteer Related, Volunteer Voices.
