America's Unofficial Ambassadors

We work at the grassroots level throughout the Muslim World to counter violent extremism before it takes hold, to promote tolerance and understanding, and to foster better relations with the United States.

Diving into Morocco head first – Caitie Dailey’s Summer Service Begins.

Our Moroccan Summer Interns are to depart shortly.  A wrap up of the pre-departure blog posts ends with Caitie Dailey who will be volunteering at the Azrou Center and a summer camp program offered at Al-Akhawayn University.   

The original content was written by Caitie. 

In the past year of my life I’ve traveled to more countries, experienced more cultures, and met more people than I ever thought possible. My adventure began last summer in Tanzania and continued on to South Africa for a semester and Italy for the following (as well as a few trips here and there around Europe). It has been a busy year and I’ve learned so much about myself, my strengths and weaknesses, but most of all I’ve learned about what I love. What I love most is helping others and learning about different cultures and perspectives around the world.

These passions are what lead me to apply for America’s Unofficial Ambassadors, and as I write this blog I am only a mere week away from leaving for my dream internship in Ifrane, Morocco! This summer I will be interning at the summer camp program offered at Al-Akhawayn University for the first portion of my stay and then doing similar work at the Azrou Center. This two posts coincide with the work I would like to do in the future as a career.

My hope is that after graduation (I’m a rising senior studying International Studies at Washington College) I will go onto working in nonprofits, and I hope to continue my work with kids, specifically working in the education sector.

My goals for my time in Morocco are to simply embrace its beautiful cultures and customs, which are vastly different from my own, and to allow myself to develop a deferent perspective of the world. I will be working with children, and having the opportunity to see the world through their eyes as well as expand their world view is the chance of a lifetime.

It’s interesting when I tell people about this upcoming trip, they are usually concerned with the religious, social, and language barriers that I will most definitely have to face, but in all honesty I couldn’t be more excited. This internship is going to allow me to finally challenge myself to fully adapt and commit to the lifestyle of the Moroccan people, and coming from rural Pennsylvania, it will be a nice change of pace.

Within the next six weeks I hope to be able to have a positive impact on the kids and adults I work; as well as expand upon their knowledge of Americas, hopefully changing any negative attitudes or misconceptions, but also learning their perspective of my country while learning more about theirs.

So here goes nothing. I’m diving into Morocco head first, and I have a feeling that this may be my most exciting adventure yet.

Leave a Reply

