America's Unofficial Ambassadors

We work at the grassroots level throughout the Muslim World to counter violent extremism before it takes hold, to promote tolerance and understanding, and to foster better relations with the United States.

Re: I won’t Hesitate to Take Steps Forward.

Everyday Ambassador
Summer Service returned volunteer, Gabriela Guerrero was featured on Everyday Ambassador in their Wednesday Wisdom column.  Gabriela talks about her service and the impact she gained.  Congratulations, Gabriela.
Group photo with Noureen, myself, and a few of our students on the last week of class with us before they left back home for the summer.

Group photo with Noureen, myself, and a few of our students on the last week of class with us before they left back home for the summer.

This trip that I spent months preparing for has come to an end. It’s my last night in Dushanbe. I’ve contributed what I could to my placement at Tajik State University of Commerce and tried my best to make a lasting and positive impact. I didn’t go into this with any premeditated expectations and I think that helped make the experience more fulfilling. I received some advice from AUA Program Coordinator, Stefan Cornibert, that this would be a “learn as you go” type of experience. A part of me liked that nothing was too concrete. Allowing for flexibility provided Noureen, my incredible teaching partner at the university, and I with opportunities to both represent our country and its beliefs while opening up the floor to the Tajik perspective.
Follow the link to read more.

 

Leave a Reply

