America's Unofficial Ambassadors

We work at the grassroots level throughout the Muslim World to counter violent extremism before it takes hold, to promote tolerance and understanding, and to foster better relations with the United States.

Looking for a Job? Step Away from the Computer and Volunteer

AUA’s program coordinator, Stefan Cornibert, was featured on the Huffington Post last week for his article, “Looking for a Job? Step Away from the Computer and Volunteer.”

Being unemployed isn’t fun.

A few years ago, not long after I finished grad school, I found myself once again looking for a full-time job. Most days, I was in front of a laptop, combing through job ads, typing cover letters furiously and trying hard to network, all while doing my best to make ends meet in a tough economy.

Though my experience was arguably less trying than what the roughly nine million or so unemployed people in America are confronting today, the stark reality of not having a job and needing one was a challenge I won’t soon forget. Still, after searching for a while and not seeing the results I wanted, I realized that to find work I’d have to try a new approach.

And that’s why I decided to volunteer.

Follow this link to read the whole article.

Leave a Reply

